Medicare Learning Center

What is Medicare?

  • Medicare is the federal health insurance program
  • Medicare is for Americans 65 and older, younger people with disabilities, and people with End-Stage Renal Disease (ESRD)
  • There are four parts of Medicare:  Parts A, B, C, and D.  "Original Medicare" is made up of parts A & B.
  • Medicare is run by The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, also know as CMS.  CMS is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

For further Learning on Medicare Parts A, B, C, & D click below...

Medicare Part A (Hospital Coverage)

Medicare Part B (Outpatient Services)

Medicare Part C (Medicare Advantage)

Medicare Part D (Prescription Drug Coverage)


Download the most recent Medicare & You Handbook